Verizon FIOS Service

by

There is a fight between cable companies and phone companies.  Cable companies are getting into the phone business and phone companies are getting into the cable business.  Until recently I received my Internet connection and cable from my cable company and my phone from my phone company.  Verizon is my phone company and offers a relatively new product called FIOS, which will ultimately include all three services.  Instead of having individual wires for each, Verizon puts all three on fiber optics.  I chose to take the plunge and move my phone and Internet connection to fiber optics.  Verizon does not yet have approval in my area for cable tv. 

Even though many cities have been wired with fiber optics, not too many individuals have fiber to the home yet.  My phone lines used to come in over copper wires.  Whenever it rained, I got static. One of the benefits I saw with making the switch was to get rid of the static. 

Although Verizon has a spotty reputation for customer service, the representatives for FIOS were great.  They answered all my questions and installed everything quickly.

The whole system has been in for many months with very few problems.  As I had hoped, the static is gone.  The Internet connection is a little faster than my previous Internet connection over cable.  Not everything is perfect with fiber optics.  Power failures can bring down the whole system.  Phone companies power their phones lines over their copper wires.  Since fiber optics are made out of glass and glass is not conductive, the system has to be powered by the homeowner.  In other words, when the power goes out, the homeowner is responsible for the battery backup.  A few weeks ago I lost power and my phone lines did not last many hours.  With the explosion of cell phones, this downside may become less and less important.

Leave a Reply

